jump to navigation

Heroes June 21, 2011

Posted by peileppe in call-centre, comics.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Here they are the everyday Heroes taking calls, taking abuses, treated like cattle … day after day, week after week, until they’re completely burn-out and give their resignation letter…

Sad Heroes of a sad comedy played ad-lib for the sadistic pleasure of the almighty corporations.

I’ve been among you, I know how it feels at the end of the day when you can hardly speak, with the head full of echoes of past conversations, and when you remember of that particular customer that was really a pain in the ears.

I salute you phone troopers, canon fodder of the corporate world, phone slaves, phone workers!

And tomorrow I’ll be back at the comics factory — hopefully

Comments»

1. call guy - July 27, 2011

Thanks. You capture the essence of the call centre so perfectly.I refer to that end of the day feeling as my brain turning to call-centre mush or pate. I mean yesterday I couldn’t do anything, could barely think straight until I had some sleep and woke up this morning. Better get working on that resignation letter.

peileppe - July 28, 2011

What I meant in this post, is that the system is inhuman – every piece of the mechanism in a call-center is to get the last drop of the agent’s energy.

Being under control from the moment you logged in – the management scrutinizing your stats, telling you to do things (while you have the feeling deep inside, that they’re out of touch with the reality) but you must comply, because on the agents level there’s no options – either you take the calls or you quit.

Yesterday I was reading an article about “Best practices in Call-Centre” – and I couldn’t help laughing bitterly …

I salute you, and I’ll keep reading your excellent blog (I wish I had your talent for writing)

call guy - July 28, 2011

Thank you so much. My writing is really nothing compared to your drawing though.

I’ve also come to the conclusion that the dominant management paradigm in the industry is to see workers as machines,or as cattle in one of those gigantic industrialised dairy farms. Either way the last thing they see us as is human beings

2. Christie Attenborrow - October 12, 2011

Why didn’t I realise this before I signed the contract !

peileppe - October 17, 2011

Hi Christie, thanks for visiting my blog – don’t let the call-centre system bring you down, start a side project … and one day put that resignation letter proudly on the desk of your favorite manager.


Leave a Reply

